Log in

Level III certification

Level III Overview

  • Must be Level II certified in good standing
  • Read and study books on the Level III Book list
  • Pass all parts of the Level III exam ($25 per part for members and $50 per part for non-members)
  • Complete a Level III Assessment Clinic
  • Attend a Court Administrator Seminar
  • Complete 28 hours of continuing education
  • Read the Journal and Observation Planning Guide
  • Create a list of courts to visit for observation
  • Complete a Professional Journal
  • Submit Professional Journal for grading
  • Submit application for certification

You are not certified until you complete the application requirements for Level III. 

A passing exam grade does not mean you are certified.  You will get a number grade only if unsuccessful.  Results are available on the TMCEC personal profile ONLY.  Results will not be released to anyone other than the person taking the test.

Your Level III test will expire if not used in the application process within 5 years of the test date.

Once your application has been submitted and approved, you will receive a certificate by mail from TCCA.  Upon receipt of the certificate, you may place the designation CMCC following your name.

Level III Resources

Maintaining Certification

Twenty (20) hours of education are required each academic year for Level III certified clerks to maintain your certification.

The academic year begins September 1st  and ends August 31st.


The Texas Court Clerks Association offers scholarships to TCCA members.  These scholarships help cover some of the costs associated with achieving and/or maintaining certification.  

For more information, please visit the Scholarships page. 

This page is available to TCCA members only who are logged into the website.

Texas Court Clerks Association

Contact Us

Site Design by Site to be Seen

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software